Push, pull and when not to hammer your broker

I can't imagine people not asking this question before, but I couldn't find the answer on this forum. I recently started programming in MQL4, after having experience in other languages.

From the documentation I gather that your broker pushes price information to the terminal buffer. When the start() function is called, that price data is copied to a buffer specifically for that start() function. But what happens if the RefreshRates() function is called? Does that copy the new price information from the terminal buffer to the function buffer, or does it send a request to the broker for the new price information (pull)?

And does the same principle apply to order information? Is the order history also stored in the terminal buffer? Or does your EA send a request to the broker everytime you use order attributes?

The reason for asking is that I don't want to hammer my broker with unnecessary requests and pissing him off in the process. It's bad enough I might have to update a stoploss on every tick.

no, this won't send requests to the broker. It will only update the automatic variables like Bid and Ask and buffers, etc. with the new data that *might* have been pushed by the broker in the meantime.

Thanks for the info :-)

The way I understand it:

The broker broadcast the ticks. Ticks can be lost in Cyberspace. The Tick-Count is the same as the Volume-Count. Hence, you can miss the if( Volume[0]==1 ).

The start() is called when your platform receives this broadcast. The price information is then stored in what's called pre-defined variables and not-Buffers. I cannot call the Ask[7] for example.

RefreshRates() requests the information from the broker and updates the Pre-Defined variables. This seem to me the case because you can run Scripts and even EAs which does not Return from the Start function and gets stuck in a Endless While Loop. This type of script Sleeps for about 5-Second wakes up and has to RefershRates().