EA not placing correct orders all the time.

Hey Everyone.

I am having a few problems with my code. There are many problems, and as I hope you can appreciate, I am new to coding and am doing it in my spare time - I am slowly working through them.
The problem I am currently trying to overcome is that occasionally the EA is only placing an order one way. For example, only a sell, or only a buy. This is only sometimes. It should place a buy and sell at the same time.
Before anyone says "this is not a sound trading strategy", I am not worried, the point here is for me to learn how to code, rather than the strategy. I know my code may not be the most efficient, but I am just trying to get it to work before I refine it.

So could anyone tell me why this may be happening? As I said, I am new to coding, so rather than one or two word answers, if you could briefly explain it, it may help me learn what I am doing wrong.

Thanks.

#include <stdlib.mqh>

// External Variables
extern double StopLoss = 0.00300;
extern double TakeProfit = 0.00400;
extern double LotSize = 1;
extern int MagicNumber = 123;

// Global Variables
int SellLimit;
int BuyStop;
int BuyLimit;
int SellStop;

// Start Function
int start()
        {
                double DayHigh = iHigh(NULL, PERIOD_D1, 1);  // Yesterday's High
                double DayLow = iLow(NULL, PERIOD_D1, 1);  // Yesterday's Low
                double Spread = Ask - Bid;
                double Price = Bid;

// Calculate SL & TP For Sell Limit
                RefreshRates();
                     double SellLimitSL = Price + StopLoss;
                                    double SellLimitTP = Price - TakeProfit;

// Calculate SL & TP For Buy Stop                   
                RefreshRates(); 
                                    double BuyStopSL = Price - StopLoss;
                                    double BuyStopTP = Price + TakeProfit;

// Calculate SL & TP For Buy Limit                  
                RefreshRates();