Simple MT4 - Java bridge

Hi All,

I'm a JAVA programmer and I use MT4 since one year. Although MQL is very simple and easy to learn, some things are really painful to code in this language. A few weeks ago a thought about a simple integration from logic-code written in Java into my metatrader EA. I searched the internet and this forum for a solution and I found some interesting Tools (MT4-Java API https://forum.mql4.com/27050, Java Class to DLL converter, ... ) BUT all have their pro and cons and so I decided to write my own MT4-Java integration.

I had the following four MUST HAVE requirements for my solution:

1. Simple Installation
2. Debugging capabilities for JAVA code
3. Speed

4. No network communication between MT-Terminal and another process

One thing which was not important for me, was the need for calling MT4 functions (indicator, trading functions) from within my Java code. For technical analysis I use the open source library from www.ta-lib.org and order handling is still done in the MQL-code. The Javacode simply informs the MQL code when it’s time to BUY or to SELL.

All what you need is MetaTrader, an installed JVM (1.6) and the attached ZIP file which contains the MQL code and the DLL for the JVM container .

Copy the files from the ZIP to your MT installation directory (keep the directory structure) and edit the mt4j.properties file and adjust the path to your jvm.dll file. This is all to run the mt4Sample EA.

The Sample implementation doesn’t do anything. It’s just a skeleton to show you what’s possible. Read the comments inside the files MT4BasicClient.java and SampleEA.java. The JAVA sources you can find inside the mt4jSample.jar. Your own class must implement the MT4BasicClient interface or must extend the class AbstractBasicClient. Don’t forget to add the directory or JAR file with your own classes to the classpath (see mt4j.properties).