Quick and easy question

I am a beginner.

In the example of code below I have a "for" loop after the first "if" statement and another "if" statement further down.

Let us say in the first two loops the following test

(Close[i] < Open[i])

is true. What happens if in the next loop (the third one) "Close" is not smaller than "Open" (making the "if" statement false), will the total of four loops be completed or will the code jump to the next statement or operator?

Here is the piece of code

if (nBarHighNo == 5)
            {
             nBullRevBars = 0;
             nBearRevBars = 0;
              for (i = 4; i >= 1; i--)
                 { 
                  RefreshRates();
                  if (Close[i] < Open[i]) nBullRevBars = nBullRevBars + 1;
                 }
             }

The if statement in there has no relevance whatsover on the "for" loop. The loop makes 4 cycles, that's it.

If you had if(bal bla) {code1; continue; } that would interfere with your for loop.

The 2 repeating loop controllers are continue; and break; they're quite selfexplanatory.

forexCoder:

The if statement in there has no relevance whatsover on the "for" loop. The loop makes 4 cycles, that's it.

If you had if(bal bla) {code1; continue; } that would interfere with your for loop.

The 2 repeating loop controllers are continue; and break; they're quite selfexplanatory.

Thanks a lot forexCoder for clearing that up for me!

You probably don't need Refreshrates in your loop and could possibly add some confusion to whatever you are trying to achieve.

If you refreshrates and this then shifts the timeseries up mid loop then result is confused. The open and close values will be fixed for time you are running the EA and to get the result you are looking for should remain fixed IMO.

Good to be aware of
RefreshRates()

but it will only affect the current bar values, i.e. anything with [0] or [i] where i=0, and it will be a performance hit