Old Holy Grail?

I bactested my expert advisor which is based purely on price action strategy. It show great results between 1999 - 2007 but failed badly between 2007 - 2010. I tried & tested every year, capital size, lot size and other possible ways that I know but the result is still similiar. I've also tested it with other brokers and yes, same thing.

Could anyone explain what actually happened? I visually see that the candles on the chart between 1999-2007 is not that good or "broken". My question is this whole thing due to the tick data problem from Metaquotes or is simply just because my strategy did not work for the year 2007 - 2010?

Please excuse me if this is an irrelevant question as I am new to this backtesting thing.

General settings of my expert advisor is as follows;
Stop Loss: 50 Points
Take Profit: 10 Points
Currencies Tested: EURJPY, USDCHF, EURCHF, EURUSD, EURGBP
(similiar results on other currencies especially EUR)

Result from 01/01/1999 - 01/01/2011

This probably is a mixture of spread-sensitivity, and maco changes in the market

There were 3 major market pattern changes in 2007, 4 in 2008, more in 2009 & 2010

Your system doesn't seem suited to any of the more recent ones

Many long-term profitable EA's stopped working mid-2009

FWIW

-BB-

that reminds me on a old project: https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/126819

Seems that your strategy need a low ATR to be successful.

You see the changes in price action if you open a daily chart. The market moves get more agressive (fast) and the average range increased a lot.

//z

Invalid:

I bactested my expert advisor which is based purely on price action strategy. It show great results between 1999 - 2007 but failed badly between 2007 - 2010. I tried & tested every year, capital size, lot size and other possible ways that I know but the result is still similiar. I also tested it with other brokers and yes, same thing.