Question About Indicator Variable

Hi All,

I'm a newbie & kind of confused by the snippet below. Could anyone explain what is actually the 'shift' or it's exact function in simple explanation?

int shift = 1;

double x1 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, 1, shift);
double x2 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, 0, shift + 1);

I need the value of the first & second last indicator bar? Can I simply use the snippet below instead without the shift & will it have any effect?

double x1 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, 1);
double x2 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, 0);

I tested both and the first snippet(with shift) above gave the value of previous bars not current bar.

Thanks!

It is not possible to answer since we don't know which external variables your iX indicator has.

//z

Sorry, I thought it will be clearer by by renaming to iX. It's actually Heiken Ashi Smoothed indicator. double x1 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"HeikenAshiSmoothed", 2, 6, 3, 2, 1, shift); double x2 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"HeikenAshiSmoothed", 2, 6, 3, 2, 0, shift + 1);

Invalid:

I'm a newbie & kind of confused by the snippet below. Could anyone explain what is actually the 'shift' or it's exact function in simple explanation?

int shift = 1;

double x1 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, 1, shift);
double x2 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, 0, shift + 1);

I need the value of the first & second last indicator bar? Can I simply use the snippet below instead without the shift & will it have any effect?

double x1 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, 1);
double x2 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, 0);

I tested both and the first snippet(with shift) above gave the value of previous bars not current bar.

Format is iCustom( symbol, TF, "CustomIndicator", arg1 .. argN, Buffer, shift)

Shift is which bar you want, zero=current, one=last. You probably want

int shift = 1; #define buf=0;

double x1 = iCustom(NULL, 0,"iX", 1, 2, 3, 4, buf, shift);