POLL : How many people are successfully running automated systems using MQL4 ?

Hi,

Just wanted some feedback. There are A LOT of help requests on this forum.

I have been a software developer for 10+ years, & must say that even with all the code examples & help, the MQL4 platform is a very difficult platform to work with.

I'm still struggling to complete my system the way I want it.

Given all the reported problems, peculiarities, data issues etc etc...I have a question...

HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE ACTUALLY RUNNING A LIVE SYSTEM LEAVING ALL ORDERS TO THE SOFTWARE WITHOUT ANY INTERVENTION ???

If you are, and are happy, let us all know how long its been running successfully.

Would be interesting to know who has got that far & found it trustworthy, or else its all an academic waste of time.

> MQL4 platform is a very difficult platform to work with

Well, it has a difficult job to do, linking the 3-D graphical world of trading to a fully compiled open-source language via an OO layer...

Maybe its because you should specify like a trader, code like a programmer?

Not an easy combination...

I have around 20 EA's plus variants that are deployed according to prevailing market conditions.

Not many systems will run year after year & stay in profit without tweaking or self-hibernating when out of sync with current patterns

Some of the systems were active for all of 08, off early this year & now showing signs of 'waking up'

Others take a different approach which I hope will last through all main market cycles, but if they dont, they get switched

Good Luck

-BB-

Thanks, forgot to mention, I've been trading futures for almost two years using an end of day system called TradingBlox. It uses a type of VBScript compiler to expose all the trading objects/indicators etc, but is a walk in the park to use compared to MQL4 - Yes, I paid for the platform, but its recouped 3000% of its purchase price :-)