Combining Custom Indicators with EAs

Hi

I'm new to MQL4 but have been programming C/C++ for years. I am trying to understand a concept regarding the difference between indicators and EAs.

I have written a Custom Indicator that draws a few moving averages and places arrows at appropriate buy and sell locations.

What I want to do now is create an Expert Advisor that buys and sells when the Custom Indicator tells it to, but I don't know how.

First I tried just converting the entire Custom Indicator into an EA, but this doesnt work because apparently you cannot plot data as lines in an EA, so I cannot plot my moving averages in an EA. So my conclusion is that I must have the line drawing logic in the Custom Indicator, and the buy logic in the EA.

I thought of calling iCustom() from my EA but Custom Indicators are state machines that continue to loop forever - so this doesn't make sense.

Am I missing something? My custom indicator algorithm basically looks like this:

start()

{

plot EMA5

plot EMA10

if the EMAs are crossing for the first time

place an arrow

}

When I place an arrow, I want to buy. How do I do this?

Thanks.

https://docs.mql4.com/trading

To buy now, use OrderSend().

---

An EA can draw lines.

Take your indicator and copy it from /experts/indicators to /experts. Open the new copy in the editor and compile it.

See if that doesn't work.

Attach the new Expert to a chart.

phy:

https://docs.mql4.com/trading

To buy now, use OrderSend().

---

An EA can draw lines.

Take your indicator and copy it from /experts/indicators to /experts. Open the new copy in the editor and compile it.

See if that doesn't work.

Attach the new Expert to a chart.

OrderSend() doesn't work from a custom indicator, only an EA.

An EA, as far as I know, cannot plot data on a curve. It can only draw basic horizontal/vertical lines.