MT5 Updation lost my indicater's source file!!!!! How TERRIBLE!! TOO BAD!!

I have to report this!  This is too bad!!
I have already update one of my indicator {version from 3 to 4},

when I updated MT5 servral day ago as MT5 noticed me to do! It completed and need me to do nothing.
But I found my newest code of this EA have gone nowhere, and I can not found both in MT5's installed directory and the DATA directory! 

WHAT A BAD THING!!
As a world-class software,  Please tell me What happened and GIVE ME code back! The codes betweent the two versions of my indecator has too much different!!

I have also complained about this.

Make sure you save the modified indicator under a different name because all original indicators will be overwritten, and recompiled, upon update.

Maybe you can use a data recovery tool to retrieve the old version of your indicator.

I'm not a computer expert but is it possible that when the MT5 files are updated to a new version, the data itself is not actually physical overwritten on the hard drive and is still present on your drive.

Try something like this:

XXXX

Give your indicators different names as Marco says and make backups of your indicators on different hard drives and USB's in case the drive itself fails.

I don't understand anything about these "complaints". MT5 (or MT4) update don't change your source code.

This happens when you modify a example or system indicator or expert and overwrite it keeping the same name.

Then a (forced) update comes along and all of your hard work get overwritten by the original standard indicator/expert.

So you lose your work unless you saved it under a different filename.

Needles to say, this is what some new comers do, they are not experienced with coding so they start by examining and tweaking + testing the available standard indicators/experts,

That come with the Terminal and this then becomes their work of art.. so yea i can see how it causes distress when it gets lost.

Alain Verleyen: