Using classes defined in a .dll

Hi everybody,

I was evaluating which is the best choice among MQL4 and MQL5, I'm a software developer so I really appreciate the OOP introduced in MQL5.
I have a C++ .dll which exposes some useful classes, my question is: can I directly use the classes defined in an external .dll from MQL5. I think this should be quite natural (because of the c++ like nature of MQL5) but I'm pretty sure it's not possible.
What do you suggest? A wrapper .dll is an ugly and uncomfortable way, plus you loose the OOP benefits.

Any suggestion is more than welcome

Thanks in advance

Marco 

Hi All,

I have the same question. Can somebody from Metaquotes clarify?

Regards

Vivek 

Hi!

Same question. Almost five years and nobody can help?

Thanks.

imsp:

Hi!

Same question. Almost five years and nobody can help?

Thanks.

Why don't you try it and report back?

honest_knave:

Why don't you try it and report back?

Can you give directions on how to import a dll class from mql5? I will give a try gladly

imsp:

Can you give directions on how to import a dll class from mql5? I will give a try gladly

Alas, no I can't. It is not something I've ever needed to explore (and I guess that is why the question remains unanswered - not a very common requirement!)

Good luck if you do try

imsp:

Reading the documentation before asking questions is generally a good idea.

It shows you exactly how to do it. You clearly didn't.....

https://www.mql5.com/en/docs/basis/preprosessor/import

There are examples of importing .dll files on that page.

Documentation on MQL5: Language Basics / Preprocessor / Importing Functions (#import)
Documentation on MQL5: Language Basics / Preprocessor / Importing Functions (#import)
  • www.mql5.com
Language Basics / Preprocessor / Importing Functions (#import) - Reference on algorithmic/automated trading language for MetaTrader 5

Jack Thomas:

Reading the documentation before asking questions is generally a good idea.