Is this information is true about MT4 & MT5 Trade Context Memory?

Hello,

I came across information on the EarnForex forum stating that MT4 has only 1 trade context, which is why it often shows error 146 ("Trade context busy"). On the other hand, MT5 has 8 trade contexts, making it more suitable for Algo trading because it is unlikely for all 8 trade contexts to be busy at the same time. Can anyone confirm if this information is accurate?

Thank you :)

anuj71:

Hello,

I came across information on the EarnForex forum stating that MT4 has only 1 trade context, which is why it often shows error 146 ("Trade context busy"). On the other hand, MT5 has 8 trade contexts, making it more suitable for Algo trading because it is unlikely for all 8 trade contexts to be busy at the same time. Can anyone confirm if this information is accurate?

Thank you :)

What is the context of this conversation about context?

What do you mean by trade context?

Old term https://www.mql5.com/en/articles/1412

The "trade context" in MT4 determines whether EA or script can execute trades. In MT4, there is only one trade context available at a time, which can lead to errors like "Trade context busy" (Error 146) if multiple EAs or scripts attempt to trade simultaneously. This limitation can impact the ability of EAs to open positions successfully.

Need to ensure that the trade context is free before using functions like IsTradeAllowed()

While MT5 offers eight trade contexts, making MT5 more suitable for algorithmic trading due to the reduced likelihood of all contexts being busy simultaneously.

Hope this helps.
Error 146 ("Trade context busy") and How to Deal with It
  • www.mql5.com
The article deals with conflict-free trading of several experts on one МТ 4 Client Terminal. It will be useful for those who have basic command of working with the terminal and programming in MQL 4.

Carl Schreiber #: