how to make a chart current?

Hi, Im new to MQL4 but not to coding. In my EA I'm trying to make a specific chart the current chart. When I activate the trading terminal it starts with a particular chart - EURUSD. This is not the one I want so I open a new chart  (GOLD.) . At this stage _Symbol is still not  set to GOLD. I then do a SymbolSelect, ChartSetInterger  and still _Symbol is not set to GOLD. My issue is when I execute "Comment()" it writes the information on the EURUSD chart. Currently I am testing code in OnTick()  and  find any function I execute using _Symbol is, of course, looking at the wrong information.

Would appreciate some help as I've not been able to discover how to resolve this.

Cheers,

Paul

Slightly unclear what you're attempting; as with coding, precise wording is important in discussing a problem..;)

You are running an EA on a current chart, EURUSD. Are you opening a new chart with a different symbol, or changing the symbol of the current chart?

If you're just changing the symbol, don't see why this wouldn't work:

ChartSetSymbolPeriod(0,"GOLD",0);

And check your "Market watch" box to ensure the symbol is correctly spelt and is available.

pconrad: When I activate the trading terminal it starts with a particular chart - EURUSD.

No, it starts with whatever was present when previously shut down.

Do not open another chart, change the symbol of that chart (enter → gold). Done.

Thanks for the feedback. To clarify the above situation. The only chart / symbol I'm working with (want)  is "Gold." I'm writing an EA and having trouble doing operations on the Chart with symbol Gold. Also, I'm doing this from the debug side of MetaEditor.

When I launch the EA the following happens;

1) the trading terminal appears.

2) a chart with symbol "EURUSD." appears. Every time I start the execution of the program - I get it.