ArraySort() error on multidimensional array

Greetings,

I'm studying MQL4 and MQL5 for a few years now (I'm not a professional programmer, I'm self educated), but I find hard to understand topics still. Recently, I wanted to store chart object data from a sqlite database to a multi-dimensional array in a project, to minimize disk I/O. As far as I know, I need to declare the array somewhat like this:

struct MarkerData
{
   ENUM_TIMEFRAMES timeframe;
   datetime timestamp;
   ENUM_MarkerOptions flag;
};

MarkerData MarkerArray[];

But when I try to work with the array, so like to search in it with ArrayBsearch, I need to sort it first:

ArraySort(MarkerArray);

This way I get an error:

'ArraySort' - constant cannot be modified

At this point, there were no data transaction between the database and the array, the error showed up when I added the array to the code. I tried to comment out each and every data types, same error. I tried ArraySort with a one-dimensional integer type array, to test, all went well. So it is quite sure, the struct declaration, or the struct-based array causes the error.

It is also veird, that I cannot add a string to the struct with that syntax, I get a

struct MarkerData
{
   ENUM_TIMEFRAMES timeframe;
   string objectname;
   datetime timestamp;
   ENUM_MarkerOptions flag;
};

'MarkerArray' - structures or classes containing objects are not allowed

built-in: bool ArraySort(void&)

I'm quite new to arrays (used a few here and there, but mostly one-dimensional), and never used structs before. What do I do wrong? The documentation is not clear, and I did not find relevant topics neither on the web, nor on youtube. Please help.

EDIT: the code was written in MQL5, not sure if there are any differences in the relevant sections between the 2 language variants.

SQLite: Native handling of SQL databases in MQL5
SQLite: Native handling of SQL databases in MQL5
  • www.mql5.com