trade.PositionOpen() & trade.Buy()

Hi everyone, I hope you're well 🙂,

I'm still a beginner on this famous MQL5 language, but I hope to make progress slowly but surely,

However, I do have a few questions, even though I'm thinking of answering them myself one day in the future, but I can't hide the fact that I'm itching to know if anyone can enlighten me.

what are the substantial differences between these 2 functions? X.PositionOpen() and X.Buy() ?, 

How long will they last? How do they react to software crashes?

How can I find out if there are pending orders?

Simple links on the forum are enough for me 🙂

Best Reguards,
ZeroCafeine

Documentation on MQL5: Constants, Enumerations and Structures / Trade Constants / Order Properties
Documentation on MQL5: Constants, Enumerations and Structures / Trade Constants / Order Properties
  • www.mql5.com
Order Properties - Trade Constants - Constants, Enumerations and Structures - MQL5 Reference - Reference on algorithmic/automated trading language for MetaTrader 5

If you just have links it's nice 🙂

Assuming the CTrade class of the Standard Library, then...

Operations with positions

PositionOpen

Opens a position with specified parameters

Additional methods

Buy

Opens a long position with specified parameters

The difference is that the Buy is predetermined to only place Buy/Long market orders, while PositionOpen has an extra parameter for selecting the type of order (ORDER_TYPE_BUY or ORDER_TYPE_SELL).

When in doubt, read the documentation and study the source code for the class in the standard library — ".\MQL5\Include\Trade\Trade.mqh"

Fernando Carreiro #:

Assuming the CTrade class of the Standard Library, then...

Operations with positions

PositionOpen

Opens a position with specified parameters

Additional methods

Buy

Opens a long position with specified parameters