MT4 backtesting engulfing patterns

Hi, 

I've been trading FX for quite a few years but never experimented with automatic trading before. I want to give it a try now with MT4 / EA advisors. 

How do I go about using EA to backtest a strategy of buying on bullish engulfing patterns and shorting on bearish ones, with TP and SL of 1:1? 

I don't know how to program in MQL (would like to learn), but I'd guess that this simple strategy that I'm trying to experiment is probably so generic, that EA has it built-in or the community here at MQL can probably supply the EA script / program because it's so commonly used?

At any rate, love some help in instructions on how to work EA in backtesting this strategy

Max H.: I've been trading FX for quite a few years but never experimented with automatic trading before. I want to give it a try now with MT4 / EA advisors.How do I go about using EA to backtest a strategy of buying on bullish engulfing patterns and shorting on bearish ones, with TP and SL of 1:1?  I don't know how to program in MQL (would like to learn), but I'd guess that this simple strategy that I'm trying to experiment is probably so generic, that EA has it built-in or the community here at MQL can probably supply the EA script / program because it's so commonly used?

At any rate, love some help in instructions on how to work EA in backtesting this strategy

You will have to learn MQL. No strategy is built into the language. No matter how simple ou trivial you may think your strategy may be, it will still require quite a bit of coding work.

You may find something already done in the CodeBase, but you will still need to dedicate some time into learning how to work with the strategy tester.

Please note that the MT4 tester does not support testing with real ticks, only virtual ticks based on the OHLC data you have. Real ticks is only possible via 3rd party tools.