PIPS are killing me

sorry guys for this basic question , but i have been searching and reading a lot to find a very simple answer to this but i dont know if my mind is blocked or i cant get it or what since i am new at trading .

ok, 

in gold for example

price moves from 1800.21$ to 1802.21$

lot of people refer to this as 20 pips even an EA i used refer to this as 20pips

however many code and formulas  refer to it as 200pips.

and code that i read here assume the points = pips in as gold is a even 2 digit . so its should be 200pips ? I don't really get it 

how can i calculate this the correct way for gold and for other currencies ?

i will apricate  a formula . 

i

1 pip=10 points

1 point=1/10th of pip

In your example these are 200 points=20 pips.

For Gold (XAUUSD) a change in price quote of 0.01 (0.010 if there are 3 digits instead of 2), is a change of 1 pip.

• If the XAUUSD price is displayed as ###.## (2 digits), then 1 pip = 1 point = 0.01 price change.
  • If the XAUUSD price is displayed as ###.### (3 digits), then 1 pip = 10 point = 0.010 price change.

You should always look at the contract specifications of the symbol, to know the number of digits and/or point size to be able to know this.

Generally when prices on currency pairs (and the like) are shown with 2 or 4 digits, then 1 pip = 1 point, and when they are shown as 3 or 5 digits, then it is 1 pip = 10 points.

So a change in price of XAUUSD from 1800.21$ to 1802.21, means there was a change in 200 pips.

Please note, that there is also another unit called "Points" which refers to the change in quote on the left hand side of the decimal point (hence its name). This unit is used for stocks and other symbols.

The unit "points" is a unit used on Forex and MetaTrader and is not too widely known in the old school "bull pit" traders and only known to those that trade Forex or use MetaTrader and other similar platforms.