How do I create a function to process each millisecond? - page 3

Dmitry Fedoseev:

24 frames per second is enough if you didn't read TV books when you were a kid)))

Actually analogue CRT televisions used interlaced scanning, but only because in those days they could not make full frames in a given bandwidth, producing even, then odd, and flicker was not visible due to tube afterglow. Not only did I read books, but as a student I used to do quite a bit of hackwork when repairing TVs).

Alexey Volchanskiy:

Actually analogue CRT televisions had interlaced scanning, but only because in those years they could not make full frames in a given bandwidth, they made even lines first, then odd, and due to tube afterglow flicker was not visible. Not only did I read books, but as a student I also did quite a bit of shoddy work repairing TVs ))

I don't know how many frames there should be. I haven't read any such books. But the main thing is that I've done it now and it works fine. Of course, I haven't got it all figured out yet, but I've already got something to hang on to.

Nikolay Demko:

The ChartRedraw function has a cost of 40 milliseconds, so there is no point in updating the timer after 16.

40 milliseconds corresponds to 25 frames per second, which is equal to human perception speed.

Well no, Nikolai, of course it's less than that. On my computer it is a bit less than 2 milliseconds with COLOR_FORMAT_ARGB_NORMALIZE , and less than a millisecond with COLOR_FORMAT_XRGB_NOALPHA

As you can see from the attached sample script(TestSpeedCanv.ex5) the frame delay of 30 milliseconds (32 fps) is absolutely enough for your eyes. By the way, all video is shot at this speed. A higher frame rate is used when slow motion playback is required.

Files:

Реter Konow:

The maximum frequency of the timer function is 15-16 mc.

Yes, it is. (Only not the frequency, but the period. Maximum frequency = 64 Hz)

Just to add a clarification: