What is a trend? - page 2

Ivan Butko:

It's an associative and intuitive understanding. It's like looking at it and it all makes sense. But imagine (I'm not a programmer, I don't know how to phrase it properly) that you are writing to an owl, what would you say to it? In formal language. I think the first thing would be to link it to a TF. I.e., the definition can already indicate that the trend is (tra-ta-ta) on a particular TF.

When they will be able to distinguish trend from flat, then the grail will be written....

Yuriy Asaulenko:

From which it follows that the trend can only be somehow determined a posteriori, and quite subjectively.

Let's say we've passed the local max, which is higher, and we're going down. Are we still in a trend or not?

I know that there is such a phenomenon amongst NEOs as the wave level (WL). It's much deeper than the primitive TF, and, waves (trends) are classified at an approximate level (let's say they say, "Trending at the M15 level... although no, it's clearly smaller here, judging by the indications, it's still M10 or M8")

Alternatively, but with a claim to formality, the famous trader Stanislav "Hello, dear subscriber! Chuvashov. He defined a trend as a ratio of fractals (already related to the TF). I.e., those notorious "local tops and lows" - will show us fractals. If the "next low" is higher than the previous one but lower than the previous one, meanwhile the next top is higher than the previous one, it is NOT a trend yet, it is still a flat. A trend is when the new trough (fractal down) is higher(!) than the previous top (fractal up). That is, it is essentially a sharp spike, an impulse. And that one defined it as the start of a trend.

Vladimir Pastushak:

When they can distinguish trend from flat, then the grail will be written....

:DDD))))