Questions from Beginners MQL5 MT5 MetaTrader 5 - page 78

R0MAN:

This article is a help.

Change double iFractals(string symbol, int timeframe, int mode, int shift) in four to

Thank you

R0MAN:

I have little experience with MQL5 so far, I have reviewed the MQL5 Timeframe Guide but did not find anything useful.

I have a problem: I have a fractal indicator that works on one timeframe and I want to get its data on 2 different timeframes.

I have it like this:

#include <GetIndicatorBuffers.mqh>

int Fractals_handle; // pointer to the iFractals indicator
string period; // variable for different timeframes of the chart

void OnTick()

{

//---- indicator buffers for B. Williams' Fractals

static double Upper[]; // array for UPPER_LINE indicator iFractals, it is an array for the upper fractals

static double Lower[]; // array for the LOWER_LINE indicator iFractals, it is an array for the lower fractals

for( int j=1; j<=2; j++ )
{

if( j==1 ) period=PERIOD_H1;
if( j==2 ) period = PERIOD_H4;

//--- create a pointer to the iFractals indicator object

Fractals_handle=iFractals(NULL,period );

//--- if an error occurred while creating the object, print the message

if(Fractals_handle<0)
{
Print("The iFractals object was not created: Execution error = ",GetLastError());
//--- forced program termination
return(-1);

}

//--- set the arrays indexing order as in timeseries
//--- if an error occurs, stop any further operations
//--- filling declared arrays with current values from all indicator buffers for fractals

if(!GetFractalsBuffers(Fractals_handle,0,100,Upper,Lower,true)) return;

// here is the line of check of the indicator work

} // loop end by J

If the loop over j is removed in the above code and a concrete period is inserted into the Fractals_handle=iFractals(NULL,period ); function, the program will work.

In the loop, it generates an error during compilation:

'period' - unexpected token Sov_MA_ADX.mq5 482 47