StringFormat in a function-like macro

I'm wondering if there's a way to counter this :

#define fun(X) StringFormat(X);
string s = fun("Help %s","Me");

It goes

too many arguments for function-like macro 'fun'
'StringFormat' - wrong parameters count

which is what's supposed to happen, but how to define the macro so the second line stays the same

ILoveBouldering: I'm wondering if there's a way to counter this : It goes too many arguments for function-like macro 'fun' 'StringFormat' - wrong parameters count which is what's supposed to happen, but how to define the macro so the second line stays the same

You can't use Macros that way, as you have to set a fixed number of parameters in the macro.

You can however (i think) use a Stringizing expansion as follows:

#define fun(X) StringFormat( #X );

Please note, that I have never tried it myself before.

EDIT: Forget my suggestion. It expands to a string not code.

Try to see if a Variadic Macro will work in MQL. I'v never tried it and I don't know if MQL supports it.

#define fun( ... ) StringFormat( __VA_ARGS__ );

Try the different variation here and see if any of them work

#define fun( args... ) StringFormat( args );
EDIT: Just tried both and MQL did not support it and gave compilation errors.

Can't think of any other option to work around it. You will have to use a fixed number of parameters.

Yeah it's not working for me either, but thank you for always trying to help though <3

ILoveBouldering #: Yeah it's not working for me either, but thank you for always trying to help though <3
You are welcome!

If you create a macro with arguments, anything that goes inside the parenthesis is an argument, and since they are separated with commas if there are more than the macro could expect it gives compilation errors (imagine a macro with 2 arguments and you call it with 3, how would it parse them?)

In your specific case you could have 2 options, the first is to use 2 arguments:

#define fun(X,Y) StringFormat(X,Y);