A simple counter?

I'm trying to write the code that would count the times something happens. It doesn't matter what. You don't need any existing code. I'm just learning and trying to understand scope and the order that things are processed. It's all still pretty new. I just want to write, for example:

if(a == b)

{

do something.

counter++

}

So, every time "do something" happened, it would add 1 to the count. It seems straight forward enough but when I attempt it in any context, it only adds 1 to the original value. If I create "counter = 0" and if something happens then counter++, then I will just get a bunch of counter = 1 over and over every time something happens. Does the code have to be more complex then simply creating a variable with a value of 0 then just writing it with "++" inside the IF brackets? Or am I missing something else?

dasilvja:

I'm trying to write the code that would count the times something happens. It doesn't matter what. You don't need any existing code. I'm just learning and trying to understand scope and the order that things are processed. It's all still pretty new. I just want to write, for example:

if(a == b)

{

do something.

counter++

}

So, every time "do something" happened, it would add 1 to the count. It seems straight forward enough but when I attempt it in any context, it only adds 1 to the original value. If I create "counter = 0" and if something happens then counter++, then I will just get a bunch of counter = 1 over and over every time something happens. Does the code have to be more complex then simply creating a variable with a value of 0 then just writing it with "++" inside the IF brackets? Or am I missing something else?

use static variables.

Documentation on MQL5: Language Basics / Variables / Static Variables
Documentation on MQL5: Language Basics / Variables / Static Variables
  • www.mql5.com