How to store array data over time

Hi everyone.

I'm new to the MT language, haven't coded anything in a very long time, and yet... I am going try my hand at making an EA :p. I've already one running  and have some of my own ideas that I would like to try out.

I'm starting by reading through the language database and writing out some pseudo code however I came across a question to which I cannot find the answer.

Sorry if I'm dumb, but...

Do arrays survive execution of the script? My understanding is that scripts are entirely executed once per tick, therefore anything I define will be cleared at the end of the script and redefined again on the next one.

How then can we maintain array data over time? I saw in another thread somebody mentioned using comment files or log files, which I guess are accessed on each tick. That would certainly work, but is there an easier way?

I am aiming to build around the grid theme, so would be carrying trade data from tick to tick.

Again sorry if this is a noob question but I can't seem to find my answer in the knowledge base.

Of course if it is there, please do feel free to link me to it :)

Thanks for your help!

Cornelius

Zippu:

Do arrays survive execution of the script?

Are you discussing an EA or a Script?

Hi Keith, it's a good question thanks.

My goal is an EA, however I am not yet familiar with the differences between them.

I understand of course that a script is run once and the EA is always active - however it isn't clear to me if the EA isn't just a script which is repeatedley run on each tick.

How is the distinction made in the code?

(and, if there are specific resources that discuss this please do link me :) )

Cornelius

Zippu:

My goal is an EA, however I am not yet familiar with the differences between them.

I understand of course that a script is run once and the EA is always active - however it isn't clear to me if the EA isn't just a script which is repeatedley run on each tick.

Cornelius