How best to skip code on if thn clause.

Hi

I have an EA where i want to tell the code (including the Strategy Tester, if that acts differently) to skip a test if a condition is not met.

I am new to MQL4 so i chaecked the web and found i could possibly use "break" is this correct and if so would strategy tester stop or just ignore one test in this circumstance?

Thanks

Paxman

You use break to exit a loop when there is no need to continue.

Show your code and you may get some good advice.

Keith Watford:

You use break to exit a loop when there is no need to continue.

Show your code and you may get some good advice.

The code before the functions is 4000 lines long so not sure what i would need to show to enable someone to help.

Init is at line 592 after all the variables and inputs etc. The end of the basic code is at line 4061.

In VBA it is simple but the logic in mql4 is very different.

I suspect it is not as simple as telling the code execution to move to a certain place like a "goto" so perhaps i am stuck?

Perhaps there is a simple web page to look at that explains the overall way the code works that might cover what i need?

The EA was written a few years back (by paid-for coders who no longer exist) and i am just trying to add a bit of functionality.

I think that an EA with 4000+ lines of code is probably a bit too difficult to modify for anyone with only basic understanding of how code works.

Here is a basic example of using if()

if(condition_1)  //if condition_1 is not true, 2 and 3 will be skipped
      if(condition_2)  //if condition_2 is not true, 3 will be skipped
         if(condition_3)
           {
            //do what is necessary as all 3 conditions are satisfied.
           }

Or if the conditions are in functions that return bools

if(condition_1() && condition_2() && condition_3())
     {
      //do what is necessary as all 3 conditions are satisfied.
     }