drawing objects on charts from an EA

I'm almost embarrassed asking this seemingly trivial question, as I am an experienced programmer, however the answer has evaded me for over a week now.   I am trying to get to the bottom of an EA of mine, and I was wanting to plot some graphics objects on the chart where I'm running the EA. 

I'm simply wanting to plot a line on the chart, basically an indicator, but it has to be drawn from the EA during a backtest.

I wrote my own drawing functions, then discovered these libraries, which i thought was great, however I still run into the same issues:

#include <ChartObjects\ChartObjectsLines.mqh>

#include <ChartObjects\ChartObjectsTxtControls.mqh>

The issue is that I run my EA over a certain time period.  The EA runs, it should be creating objects, then the chart opens, and the only objects on the chart are the trades taken (arrows, and trendlines).

After much messing about with no luck, I got rid of my complex EA, and decided to just plot a line and some text (in the init function) and do this on every new bar.   I've discovered a few things which seem a little wierd, which is why my code below contains certain features... 

- chart doesn't open up after the EA (to view our objects) unless you have a trade.  I therefore added in a trade so the chart would open.  However i've never seen any objects drawn on the chart from my EA (except the ones MT5 puts on automatically for the trades the EA takes).

The code attached, should write some text on the chart at a certain position.  It should also draw a line connecting up the lows of the bars. 

I would appreciate so much if someone can tell me what is wrong with my approach.  I've read all the docco i can find, i thought it might have something to do with window numbers, etc, and a bunch of other things, but everything I've read seems to indicate that what I've done is okay.  There's obviosuly something wrong.

I would love to know:

1) what is wrong with my code