Not copying signal SL and TP

To add comments, please log in or register
Jaap
70
Jaap  

Why do some signal provider ask to not check the option 'copy stop loss and take profit'?

What is the worst that can happen?

Will the stop levels not synchronise if the signal provider decides to change them during a trade?

Will trades be closed anyway when they are closed in the provider account?

Sergey Golubev
Moderator
108377
Sergey Golubev  
Jaap:

Why do some signal provider ask to not check the option 'copy stop loss and take profit'?

What is the worst that can happen?

Will the stop levels not synchronise if the signal provider decides to change them during a trade?

Will trades be closed anyway when they are closed in the provider account?

Yes, it will close anyway.

Eleni Anna Branou
Moderator
9950
Eleni Anna Branou  
Jaap:

Why do some signal provider ask to not check the option 'copy stop loss and take profit'?

What is the worst that can happen?

Will the stop levels not synchronise if the signal provider decides to change them during a trade?

Will trades be closed anyway when they are closed in the provider account?

You may close the copied positions before the signal provider does (due to slippage between brokers/servers) and MQL5 signal copying system will re-open the orders upon synchronization, because they will still be open in the signal's side, so that will create a mess. That can happen many times over & over again and the signal provider will close the positions in profit, while you will end up with many more orders closed in loss.

Sergey Golubev
Moderator
108377
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Enable realtime subscription for VPS

Eleni Anna Branou, 2017.08.19 15:28


1. Yes you need to tick: Enable real time subscription, when using a VPS.

2. The: Copying Stop Loss and Take Profit levels, means to copy the SL and TP levels of the original trading positions of the signal you are following. This option should be ticked when you are copying with a low slippage broker/server and the trading strategy isn't a scalping one.

3. Stop if equity is less than ... means that you will stop copying the signal if your equity/capital is less than the amount you put. This is a capital preservation option and you use it only if you want.

4. Synchronize positions without confirmation, means that the copying signal system will keep synchronize open positions (of the signal you are copying), even if they are closed by you manually or they hit SL and TP levels in your account/broker (when you use VPS that is).


Jaap
70
Jaap  
Sergey Golubev:

Okay thank you but at what point should I consider a signalprovider scalping, when profit is taken at an average of +3 pips or maybe even less?
Aamir Alam
286
Aamir Alam  
Eleni Anna Branou:

You may close the copied positions before the signal provider does (due to slippage between brokers/servers) and MQL5 signal copying system will re-open the orders upon synchronization, because they will still be open in the signal's side, so that will create a mess. That can happen many times over & over again and the signal provider will close the positions in profit, while you will end up with many more orders closed in loss.

Can't we prevent this happening by unchcecking the option |Synchronize positions without confirmation|   ?

To add comments, please log in or register