Loss higher than profit (SL, TP equal). Is this comission?

To add comments, please log in or register
atotheb2
atotheb2  

Hi guys,

I'm trying to develop my own expert advisor and I am still a beginner in all of this.

I am making random orders in my EA and during the backtest, I set the spread to 0 and I also limit my orders to slippage 0.

I am also setting both stop loss and take profit to the same amount (5 pips).

Normally I would think that I am getting the very same profit hitting TP as I would loose the same amount hitting SL, but this is simply not happening.

My loss trades are always more money than my profit trades. The difference is exactly $11 per lot. Is this some type of MT4 standard comission, because on my broker I have $5.5 comission round turn?

This really looks like some type of comission, because higher lot sizes reveal the same percentage of that 'comission'.

I always thought comission is not included in the MT4 backtest, so I am just wondering what that comission is?

Thanks so much!

Fernando Morales
Fernando Morales  
atotheb2:

Hi guys,

I'm trying to develop my own expert advisor and I am still a beginner in all of this.

I am making random orders in my EA and during the backtest, I set the spread to 0 and I also limit my orders to slippage 0.

I am also setting both stop loss and take profit to the same amount (5 pips).

Normally I would think that I am getting the very same profit hitting TP as I would loose the same amount hitting SL, but this is simply not happening.

My loss trades are always more money than my profit trades. The difference is exactly $11 per lot. Is this some type of MT4 standard comission, because on my broker I have $5.5 comission round turn?

This really looks like some type of comission, because higher lot sizes reveal the same percentage of that 'comission'.

I always thought comission is not included in the MT4 backtest, so I am just wondering what that comission is?

Thanks so much!

The spread

atotheb2