Placing stoploss above or below a reversal candle, eg doji or shooting star

Hi, I'm new to this and just wondering what functions in MQL4 I could use to make an EA place a stop loss above/below a reversal candle before the entry order is placed? Does anyone have some example code maybe? All help much appreciated, thank you!

clinteas2:
Hi, I'm new to this and just wondering what functions in MQL4 I could use to make an EA place a stop loss above/below a reversal candle before the entry order is placed? Does anyone have some example code maybe? All help much appreciated, thank you!
Why do you want to place a SL if there is no order in place yet?

Minions Labs:
Why do you want to place a SL if there is no order in place yet?

Hi, I figured logically the stop placement would come before the order is placed. As in:

1. Criteria for "candle pattern" met

2. Place S/L x pips above/below "candle pattern" 

3. Place order

Is that wrong?

clinteas2:

Hi, I figured logically the stop placement would come before the order is placed. As in:

1. Criteria for "candle pattern" met

2. Place S/L x pips above/below "candle pattern" 

3. Place order

Is that wrong?

Yes, you cannot have a SL with no opened order... Just send the whole bunch (Order/SL/TP) in one call...

;)

Flavio Jarabeck:

Yes, you cannot have a SL with no opened order... Just send the whole bunch (Order/SL/TP) in one call...

;)

thanks for that! So my question is, how do I capture the pattern candle upper/lower shadow price, so I know what the stop loss price has to be that I pass on to the order function?

clinteas2:
thanks for that! So my question is, how do I capture the pattern candle upper/lower shadow price, so I know what the stop loss price has to be that I pass on to the order function?

In the first place you have to know to how to program in MQL4. If it is not your EA I strongly suggest you to find some MQL4 programmer...