Objects Don't Appear Until Indicator is Edited

Hey there!

I'm new to coding with MQL4. I'm simply trying to have my indicator plot vertical lines at specified times in history. It actually does this correctly! The only problem is when I initially drag the indicator onto a blank chart, I click "OK", but the vertical lines don't appear. However, if I think right click on the chart, click on "Indicators", select my indicator and click on "Edit", then immediately click "OK", they plot perfectly. I was wondering if anyone has any idea why this could be happening.

Thanks for any help!

Jimmy

JimmyWalters:

Hey there!

I'm new to coding with MQL4. I'm simply trying to have my indicator plot vertical lines at specified times in history. It actually does this correctly! The only problem is when I initially drag the indicator onto a blank chart, I click "OK", but the vertical lines don't appear. However, if I think right click on the chart, click on "Indicators", select my indicator and click on "Edit", then immediately click "OK", they plot perfectly. I was wondering if anyone has any idea why this could be happening.

Thanks for any help!

Jimmy

Check the journals and experts tab for errors

Or post your code that needs to be checked

Mladen Rakic:

Check the journals and experts tab for errors

Or post your code that needs to be checked

Update #2: I had to set my initial values using "DayOfWeek()" in "OnCalculate()" rather that in "OnInit()" because to get the proper values, the platform has to receive a data tick. It seems like the problem is solved! Thank you for offering to help!

Update: I noticed that "DayOfWeek()" is returning 0 instead of 4. At the time of writing this, it's Thursday for this particular server which would be represented by 4 rather than 0 which is Sunday. However, whenever I recompile the code in MetaEditor, "DayOfWeek()" then returns 4 as it should. I'm not quite sure why it's doing this, but I'm looking into it.