General Advice Sought For Creating An Indicator. Encapsulated By Classes or Not?

Hi there,

I'm new to MT4/MQ4 and have, with some help from this forum, just created a processing class that effectively produces a collection of values for plotting highs/lows on a chart subject to methodology rules. 

When I first started programming MT4, I was just using the Indicator/EA template and writing procedural type code and using function libraries. This seemed straightforward and fairly obvious. However, the requirements I had for establishing highs/lows quickly became too much for the Indicator/EA template approach and I started learning/working with MT4's CPP-like classes. This is great and provides more power and encapsulation. Objects of custom types can easily be instantiated in an EA and do much work with just a single call.

I now want to plot my High/Low trend lines and would like to know whether this kind of code is best handled in the EA/libraries or whether this is still something that should be done with classes?

I appreciate that there are probably many MT4 developers who create indicators and EAs without using an OOP based approach. Hence, I'd greatly appreciate any thoughts on best practices to approach this issue? 

Cheers,

--G

Geester:

Hi there,

I'm new to MT4/MQ4 and have, with some help from this forum, just created a processing class that effectively produces a collection of values for plotting highs/lows on a chart subject to methodology rules.