EA Order processing - missing the basics ?

Hi I am new to Forex and MT4 but I have programming background.

I am writing my firs EA and there is one thing that bugs me, I had an impression that the logic flow of buying and selling the currency is as simple as buying something over the counter, i.e if i send a buy order, I am buying certain amount of a currency but then i noticed that there is also the concept of Closing an order ?

So am I right assuming that each buy and sell action consists of two steps Sending an order and Closing it ?

• If this is the case, why this can't just be done in one go, why this has to be broken down in two steps ?
  • Can i send buy order and close it in the same tick ?
  • Am I correct assuming that I can only sell and order once the buy order has ben closed ?
  • What is actually the difference between opening an order and closing it ?

Can someone provide some link that would answer those questions ?

I just seems unintuitive that in order to buy a currency you have send a buy order and then close it ? unless I am mistaken and you don't have to.

Thanks

1. You enter an other, you must eventually exit it.
  2. An order consists of your entry price and optionally a take profit price and/or a stop loss price. If the market hits the TP/SL you are out at that price, otherwise at the market price, when you close the order.
  3. You buy at the Ask and close at the Bid. The difference is called the spread. If you do both at ruffly the same time, the market hasn't moved, but you've lost money, based on the price difference and the amount of lots.
  4. In the US you can't hedge (have a buy and a sell open at the same time.) Once you close an order, you can do whatever you want.