Take Profit not Executing Immediately

Hiall,

FIrst of all, I'm new to Forex trading and am sorry to bother with such a basic question.

When I am trading with a Take Profit order, I've noticed that sometimes my chart will show the price tick through the Take Profit that I've set, but not close out. I'm using Metatrader as my client. Anything I should be looking at here?

mixhar1:
Hiall,

FIrst of all, I'm new to Forex trading and am sorry to bother with such a basic question.

When I am trading with a Take Profit order, I've noticed that sometimes my chart will show the price tick through the Take Profit that I've set, but not close out. I'm using Metatrader as my client. Anything I should be looking at here?

If you have a short position and you place a T/P then that T/P is actually a limit long position that you place ( you close a short by taking in a long).

But when you go long you do that on the ask price and not on the bid price. But the price that you see on your chart is the bid price.

So what happens ?...

You see the price going bellow that T/P line but it needs to go as low so that the ask price is going bellow that line. In other words the bid price + the spread needs to go bellow that T/P line.

If you are in a long position you will not see that problem. Because when you are long and you place a T/P then that T/P is a short position. And you go short on the bid price which is the price you see on your chart. So the moment that you will see the price going over that line your T/P will be taken out immediatly.

Can sound a bit confusing but once you get the hang of it, it is quite simple.

I hope this helps.

iGoR

That make perfect sense. Thanks for your help!

Would it be better to use a broker that has a fixed spread? It seems to me (with my limited Forex knowledge) that a large spread could cause a well designed trading system to fail more often than it should.

mixhar1: