How long does it take to become successful in forex? - page 4

it all completely depends on 3 things..

Your Strategy

The execution of the entry

The execution of the exit.

That means that the strategy is only 50% of being profitable! The rest is all execution!

You can have a strategy that profits 75% of the time but you can still screw up the execution of that strategy by missing the entry, chasing price, getting in too late, getting in too early, not having the correct size on. Then even still you can screw up the exit by not getting out early enough "holding on to losers" the 25% of the time you lose can wipe out the 75% of the profits you make. Or simply not holding on long enough rather then trying to take as much profit out of a move as possible. You can screw up the scaling out if that's part of your strategy.. and on and on...

I'm an equities trader at a proprietary trading firm and trade FX on my own time.. and can tell you one thing. Focus, discipline and research research research! will make you a successful. The most effective trading strategies are those that can be executed easily as that's the bulk of why traders lose!

tirou:
Successful traders are always very silent.

I think this is the trouble. You are correct when you say that but sometimes I wonder why. There are fake guru's, EA's that don't work, and systems that simply arnt profitable being sold all over this market. I believe that the profitable trades have an obligation to help those that are starting in this market and those that are struggling to learn.

Unfortunately I went through a lot of buying BS products before I started learning from those that were actually trading their own money live. This is the same reason I run a live trading room. With all the crap out there someone has to give back something of value.

That is another reason forums are so great. You have a group of people that truly enjoy helping one another. And the information found in them isn't half bad either