My first EA seems to give good results - how much to trust them?

Hello,

Last few days I've written and did A LOT of optimization for my first EA which is based on a very simple strategy (haven't seen it before but it could be used already). Backtesting seems to give good results, see attached photos.

My question is how much can you trust these results? Any comments on them? I am new to Forex and although I try to read and learn as much as I can there is still a lot of things I don't understand

Strategy was tested on

EUR/USD

Daily

2006.01.01 - 2006.08.25

Initial deposit: 1000 USD

Regards,

"c4n"

Files:
results.jpg  77 kb
testergraph.gif  10 kb

i only trust on forward testing

you should compair that result with forward test to ensure that

how much you can trust on it

c4n:
Hello,

Last few days I've written and did A LOT of optimization for my first EA which is based on a very simple strategy (haven't seen it before but it could be used already). Backtesting seems to give good results, see attached photos.

My question is how much can you trust these results? Any comments on them? I am new to Forex and although I try to read and learn as much as I can there is still a lot of things I don't understand

Strategy was tested on

EUR/USD

Daily

2006.01.01 - 2006.08.25

Initial deposit: 1000 USD

Regards,

"c4n"

it should be 90%, not 45.

newdigital:
it should be 90%, not 45.

Thanks, that's exactly the input I've been looking for. Will Google a bit around and see if I can get the accuracy up.

c4n:
Thanks, that's exactly the input I've been looking for. Will Google a bit around and see if I can get the accuracy up.

Hi, better forward test for next week, that's 100% accurate. If you really wants to use it on your real account, my suggestion is try it on real time until you get enough confident in it.

Just don't let yourself get too excited. You're one step forward, just keep in line.

Rgrds

No harm in backtesting and optimizing.

But do it the right way.