Timeseries ranging from hour to day to month

I want to test a trading system with the strategy tester (30 Minute timeframe). Trading this system I first decide discretionally whether I determine the Market to be long or short. So for testing the system in the Strategy Tester I need to define a certein period of time, let's say from Jan. 1st 2017  20:00 h  until Feb. 20th 2017 10:00 h. I cant't work it out. I can programm in another programming language similar to Trade Station (called Equilla) but I'm new to mql4. I've tried in the file below to 'find' the period seareched for, but defined periods of time only work out for me for reoccuring events during the day, like every day from 9:00 to 18:00 and probably every week or  fixed dates during the months.

Here what I did to define the period I was looking for:

//+------------------------------------------------------------------+
//|                                                    test_time.mq4 |
//|                                                          bratshi |
//|                                             https://www.mql5.com |
#property copyright "bratshi"
#property link      "https://www.mql5.com"
#property version   "1.00"
#property strict

input int color_Buy = Lime;
input double lots = 0.01;
input double takeprofit = 10;
input double stoploss = 10;
input int magic_number = 10101010;
bool time_wanted = false;

//______________________________________________________________________________________________________

void OnTick(void)
{
   double ma;
   string time1 = "2017.01.10 20:00";        // defining the date at which the system is supposed to start executing orders if the other conditions are met
   datetime first_date = StrToDouble(time1);// since datetime can be referred to as a 'string' datatype I convert the data information to the 'double' datatype
                                            // Compiler warns at the line above: possible loss of data due to type conversion