Are there any pre-defined structures and enumerations in MQL4?

Hi,

As a beginning programmer, i wish to use an object orientated programming approach using MQL4. I am compiling with metaeditor version 5.00 build 1526. I am using inlude files from Andrew Youngs "Expert Advisor Programming for Metatrader4".  In the trade.mqh file wrappers are used calling the MqlTradeRequest structure. Unfortanately the structure and its members aren't defined anywhere. Goal is to build an expert advisor template based on include files.

My first question is, what structures and enumerations are built in by design in MQL4?

In the stdlib.mq4 library, no structures or enumerations are defined, in my newbie view. The assumption is, i need to define, declare and initialise structures and enumarations by myself, in the stdlib.mq4 libary. These structures and enumarations will consecutively be called, with an import preproccessor file in the expert advisor ex4, pointing to the stdlib.mq4 file. Am i on the right track with this design?

Thitd question is how does the current compiler handles pre proccesor include files in MQL4? On compilation, are the include files .mqh, compiled to one single ex4 runtime file? e.g three ex4 files compiled from trade.mqh, trailingstop.mqh and expert advisor.mqh are run as an single expert advisor from the terminal.exe instance view

The reason i want to stick with MQL 4 is the avalabilty of testing with real ticks using Birt's tick data suite.

Thanks in advance for reading.

Rudolf De Heer:

Hi,

As a beginning programmer, i wish to use an object orientated programming approach using MQL4. I am compiling with metaeditor version 5.00 build 1526. I am using inlude files from Andrew Youngs "Expert Advisor Programming for Metatrader4".  In the trade.mqh file wrappers are used calling the MqlTradeRequest structure. Unfortanately the structure and its members aren't defined anywhere. Goal is to build an expert advisor template based on include files.