Update CSV File

Hello Everybody,

I am new to mql4 programming and trying to learn how to read and update csv file. Can somebody please help me out with this

Lets say I have a csv file with sample lines like this

1, A, Y

2,B, Y

3,C,Y

My requirement is to update Y to Z for all the rows, not sure how FileWrite() function can be used for this.

Thanks.

domalu:

Hello Everybody,

I am new to mql4 programming and trying to learn how to read and update csv file. Can somebody please help me out with this

Lets say I have a csv file with sample lines like this

1, A, Y

2,B, Y

3,C,Y

My requirement is to update Y to Z for all the rows, not sure how FileWrite() function can be used for this.

Thanks.

Not sure how intelligently MQL treats CSV files, but I would avoid editing it and build a brand new file with the new content instead. Anyway, I would avoid CSV files in general.

To keep it simple I just write string files and add line by line:

string row=StringFormat("%s;%.5f;%.3f;%i;%i; ...\n",
                              iName,doub1,doub2,int1,int2,...);

int fH = FileOpen(fName,FILE_READ|FILE_WRITE);
      if( fH == INVALID_HANDLE ) Print("ERROR open ",fName,": ",_LastError);
      else {
         FileSeek(fH,0,SEEK_END);
         FileWriteString(fH,row,StringLen(row));
         FileClose(fH);
      }

Can be perfectly opened by LibreOffice or even another EA: split file into lines and split each line into items.

CSV files are variable length records (as opposed to binary files) They can't be individually updated because of the changing lengths (would create a gap or clobber the next line.)

Read the lines (or variables of the lines) in to an array, then create a new file with new values.

Ovo:

Not sure how intelligently MQL treats CSV files, but I would avoid editing it and build a brand new file with the new content instead. Anyway, I would avoid CSV files in general.