Building other time frames from 1 minute time frame

I have been recording broker data for two years now, in the hopes that my data has a higher quality than the history download. I only recorded the 1m, 5m, 15m, 1h and 1d because that is what I use mostly. I have 2 brokers and 2 terminals per broker to record several symbols. I always suspected that it would be enough to just record the 1 minute data for testing purposes, but wasn’t sure and this way the data was always immediately available. But the newer versions seem to be real memory hogs, and now my VPS uses 80% of its memory. So it’s time to take a closer look.

If I make sure that I only have the 1 minute data in my history, my EA seems to run fine in the Strategy Tester even though it uses 1 hour data as well. But I can’t find proof anywhere that the strategy tester constructed 1 hour data from the 1 minute data. It could have downloaded it for all I know. (Using build 625 by the way.)

I read somewhere that MT5 only stores the 1 minute data and builds all other time frames from that. But as far as I know MT4 doesn’t do that. Is there anyone who could shed a little light on this?

burgie:

I have been recording broker data for two years now, in the hopes that my data has a higher quality than the history download. I only recorded the 1m, 5m, 15m, 1h and 1d because that is what I use mostly. I have 2 brokers and 2 terminals per broker to record several symbols. I always suspected that it would be enough to just record the 1 minute data for testing purposes, but wasn’t sure and this way the data was always immediately available. But the newer versions seem to be real memory hogs, and now my VPS uses 80% of its memory. So it’s time to take a closer look.