Can I run a script without opening any charts?

Hi All,

I am new to MT4. I have written a simple script to open a market order on GBPUSD. If I drag the script to the GBPUSD chart it works fine but if I double click the script when no charts are open it does nothing.

My aim is to add more lines to the script so it opens trades on more than one symbol (eurchf, eurjpy etc) so I don't want to have to drag it to a particular chart.

What's the solution here?

Thanks

MisterEffExx:

Hi All,

I am new to MT4. I have written a simple script to open a market order on GBPUSD. If I drag the script to the GBPUSD chart it works fine but if I double click the script when no charts are open it does nothing.

My aim is to add more lines to the script so it opens trades on more than one symbol (eurchf, eurjpy etc) so I don't want to have to drag it to a particular chart.

You don't have to drag it to a chart but it does have to run on a chart . . . if you code it right it can be any chart.

Hi RaptorUK, thanks for the help!

The command I am using is:

OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_BUY,0.1,Ask,3,Bid-15*Point,Bid+15*Point);

which I can drag to any chart since I haven't specified a currency.

However if I use:

OrderSend("GBPUSD",OP_BUY,0.1,Ask,3,Bid-15*Point,Bid+15*Point)

this also works but only if I drag it to the gbpusd chart. I would have thought it would work by just double clicking it since the symbol is in the command but double clicking does nothing.

Any ideas?

Thanks

MisterEffExx:

Hi RaptorUK, thanks for the help!

The command I am using is:

OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_BUY,0.1,Ask,3,Bid-15*Point,Bid+15*Point);

which I can drag to any chart since I haven't specified a currency.

However if I use:

this also works but only if I drag it to the gbpusd chart. I would have thought it would work by just double clicking it since the symbol is in the command but double clicking does nothing.