Backtesting and optimization are valid instruments?

Hi folks,

I'm quite new to the fx world and I'm try to learn and experience as much as possible. I developed a set of EA which I backtested (I used Alpari data) and optimized for several pairs. The results of these simulation are quite good but, from a pure mathematic point of view, how accurate and reliable are data coming from backtesting and optimization?

The market prices's changes are caused by several causes and many of them are fundamental-related. Moreover, when I'm optimizing an EA, how can I trust that I'm really getting optimized parameters and not only curve-fitted parameters? In fact there is always a number of parameters which lead the EA to be super-profitable.

I'm writing this post since, as I said, I'm approaching to this world and before spending a lot of time and effort optimizing and backtesting EA just to see them failing miserably in demo (or live!) I would like to have the opinion of expert and experienced guys who already faced my issues.

Thanks for your help.

I'm not experienced with live yet, but getting there. The way you think about it seems similar to me, right now I have two main fears:

1) accuracy of backtest results... MT4's backtester is awful for high-frequency (short timeframe) strategies. Solution: I coded my own in a script.

2) curve fitting... are your optimisations only good for the time period your tested? Solution: split your history, optimise on one part, and then test on the other part.

If you can, do a parameter sweep. Looking at your best set of parameters, does a minor change throw off the result completely?

Also, kind of a hack way I'm using at the moment, is to test 2 days or more days for each parameter set and see if there isa correlation. It's painful stuff as it kills all the enthusiasm you had with a 1 time period test.