Help with an EA - one variable seems to counteract another statement

Hi all,

Appreciate any help here. I am new to MQL4 and have only been trying this for a week.

I have written a bunch of functions, which I then call, in the start function.

My problem seems to be the order in which things happen or possibly I need a loop, or maybe just the brackets are in the wrong place, but I have tried lots of variations to no avail. Here is a snippet of the code as it stands. (as i say I have tried lots of variations to this already). Basically the Barcheck vaiable seems to then conflict with the next statement.

Barcheck is a function that checks whether price is between a range. If it is in that range then it is true. I then want to take a trade the moment price is greater than that range. The problem seems to be though that as soon as price is greater than the range which is what I need for an entry ( ie if (buyprice > NormalizeDouble(EL,Digits)) - where EL is the EntryLine/top of range) it resets the BarCheck to false, and therefore my criteria is invalid.

I have added some debugging print statements at the bottom. You can see that the first two lines show Barcheck is true. I then need price to be greater than the EL at 1.02796, but as soon as it is in the third line it resets the Barcheck to false. 

I am sure this is just something simple - it always seems to be the case, but I can't figure it out

thanks

Simon 

int start()
  {
//----
double point_2 =Point/2;
double buyprice = Ask + point_2;
double sellprice= Bid +point_2;

//START RUNNING THE SWING FUNCTION, SET FIB, SL & TP LINES
    Swings(); //this runs the function that defines the swings
    SL_TP(); //this runs the funtion that defines the SL and TP
    //BarCheck();

//START LOOKING FOR ENTRY CRITERIA

if (Trend == UpTrend)
    {
    if (OrderOpened <1)
    if (BarCheck() == true)
    if (buyprice >= NormalizeDouble(EL,Digits))
    if (OrdersTotal()<1)