scripts and EA's not working

I know some people must think, "not this again", but I have tried the following. Checked live trading enabled, the most obvious, uninstalled the platform, restored my computer, deleted all files and started from scratch and still the things won't work. The only thing that will work, is if I download a script that I have never used before, this will execute. My usual stuff is not working, although the journal says it is. No error numbers given. Any helpful insight apart from "go away"?

If you are on Vista or Windows 7 what directory do you have MT4 installed in ? if it is in Program Files/ then you may be having some UAC issues, the easiest solution is to install in something like C:\MT4_Installs\

RaptorUK:
If you are on Vista or Windows 7 what directory do you have MT4 installed in ? if it is in Program Files/ then you may be having some UAC issues, the easiest solution is to install in something like C:\MT4_Installs\

Thanks. It is stored in computer, program files X 86. I do have windows 7. When I download the platform again it will give the choice of save location, if I enter what you have specified it should stop misbehaving...... hopefully.

patrick007:

Thanks. It is stored in computer, program files X 86. I do have windows 7. When I download the platform again it will give the choice of save location, if I enter what you have specified it should stop misbehaving...... hopefully.

You need to select the Installation location when you Install . . not when you Download.

And remember to set Allow live trading (and allow DLLs if needed) in MT4 and in the EA.

RaptorUK:

You need to select the Installation location when you Install . . not when you Download.

And remember to set Allow live trading (and allow DLLs if needed) in MT4 and in the EA.

Thanks. Tried it all. Not working. Have saved EA's and scripts to same location, but no joy.

Did you tried also to close your running MetaTrader4 platform and then open it again ??