Auto close after duration script

Hi, I am just new to MQL. I learn well by modifying professionally

written code. Right now I want to know how to modify an EA to

automatically close orders that have run a certain (but Variable)

amount of time, such as 4 hours or 2 days. It will, of course,

be the first thing executed in the EA. I am just having trouble

accounting for the time/duration calculation, expecially over

the weekend 2-day gap.

Thanks

Oyster55

==================================================

Oyster55:

[...] Right now I want to know how to modify an EA to automatically close orders that have run a certain (but Variable) amount of time, such as 4 hours or 2 days. [...]

Elapsed time is easy. A timestamp in MT4 is simply a number of seconds, and subtracting something like an order's OrderOpenTime() from TimeCurrent() will therefore give you the number of seconds for which an order has been open.

Trading time is very much harder. You need to know your broker's opening hours, which MT4 cannot tell you. So, that information has to be entered manually, e.g. as parameters for the EA, and you then have to do quite a complex adjustment of the open-time calculation to subtract time for each weekend. (If you were trading things like equity CFDs, then you would also have to allow for the market being closed overnight.)

jjc:

Trading time is very much harder. You need to know your broker's opening hours, which MT4 cannot tell you. So, that information has to be entered manually, e.g. as parameters for the EA, and you then have to do quite a complex adjustment of the open-time calculation to subtract time for each weekend. (If you were trading things like equity CFDs, then you would also have to allow for the market being closed overnight.)