Sharpe Ratio - is it correct?

I just started playing with MT5 and I have a ton of questions. Let's start with the first one.

I am really happy that sharpe ratio appeared on the list of predefined optimisation criteria. I was really surprised that a rather poor MA strategy (one of the examples) got a SR=17. Normally a SR=2 would guarantee the system to make loads of money with fairly small risk, 17 is something I could never see anywhere.

Does anyone know how exactly is the SR in the new MT5 calculated?

baq:

I just started playing with MT5 and I have a ton of questions. Let's start with the first one.

I am really happy that sharpe ratio appeared on the list of predefined optimisation criteria. I was really surprised that a rather poor MA strategy (one of the examples) got a SR=17. Normally a SR=2 would guarantee the system to make loads of money with fairly small risk, 17 is something I could never see anywhere.

Does anyone know how exactly is the SR in the new MT5 calculated?

Metaquotes published this article with information and formula for Sharpe Ratio.

http://championship.mql4.com/2007/news/203

News - Automated Trading Championship 2007
  • championship.mql5.com
News - Automated Trading Championship 2007

wackena:

Metaquotes published this article with information and formula for Sharpe Ratio.

http://championship.mql4.com/2007/news/203

Thanks wackena,

I know how to calculate SR and this article confirms what I know. And take a look at this:

It follows that the value of Sharpe Ratio exceeding 3 is very good.

The account of Participant named RobinHood confirms this: his EA made 26 trades at the Automated Trading Championship 2006 without any losing one among them. Sharpe Ratio=3.07!

How can you explain this:

Results
Bars: 3 218 Ticks: 756 680

Total Net Profit:  784,77 Gross Profit: 1 686,37 Gross Loss: - 901,60
Profit Factor:  1,87 Expected Payoff:  15,70

Recovery Factor:  1,17 Sharpe Ratio:  11,10

Balance Drawdown: