Need Help In Coding 1 Buy, 1 Sell (So Close But Yet Still So Far)

Hello coders,

I am still relatively new to coding and I am writing an EA that does pretty much what i want it to. It opens trades when I want it to, it closes them when I want it to, etc. However, I have run into a wall. I want the EA to have a maximum of 2 open orders at any given time. If there is a buy order open, I want the EA to only open sell orders on sell signals and ignore the buy signals and when there is a sell order open, I want the EA to only open buy orders on buy signals and ignore the sell signals. I have spent many hours on this forum and elsewhere trying many different methods but none have worked so far. Can someone help please?

Here is the relevant portion of my code:

//+------------------------------------------------------------------+
//| Signal Begin(Entry) |
//+------------------------------------------------------------------+

int OpenTrades = OrdersTotal();
if (OpenTrades == 0)
{
if (Buy1_1 > Buy1_2 && Buy2_1 < Buy2_2) Order = SIGNAL_BUY;
if (Sell1_1 < Sell1_2 && Sell2_1 > Sell2_2) Order = SIGNAL_SELL;

if (OpenTrades > 0) {
if (OrderSelect(OpenTrades - 1, SELECT_BY_POS, MODE_TRADES)==true){
if ((OrderType() == OP_BUY) && (Buy1_1 > Buy1_2 && Buy2_1 < Buy2_2)) return (0);
if ((OrderType() == OP_SELL) && (Sell1_1 < Sell1_2 && Sell2_1 > Sell2_2)) return (0);
if ((OrderType() == OP_SELL) && (Buy1_1 > Buy1_2 && Buy2_1 < Buy2_2)) Order = SIGNAL_BUY;
if ((OrderType() == OP_BUY) && (Sell1_1 < Sell1_2 && Sell2_1 > Sell2_2)) Order = SIGNAL_SELL;
}
}
}

with my code like this, the EA only opens trades when there are no other trades open and does not open any other trades regardless of incoming signals. When I omit the portions in bold, the EA opens more than 1 order but will open a trade on the next incoming signal ignoring whether or not it may be the same as the order that is already opened.

Please use this to post code . . . it makes it easier to read.

This line . . .