retrieving supertrend color in a variable?

hi!

im quite new at coding and i discover many new features every day. i use to find my answers by googling but here im stuck with a -rather simple for experienced programmers- issue.

id like to get the color of supertrend in a variable, to trigger orders. i just dont find any info about this kind of operation anywhere...

im using the "SuperTrend.mq4" found on this reference website. i tried to understand the code by myself but i have to admit i havent understood a single thing in it...

thanks a lot!!!

den

You don't. You use iCustom to get the buffer values. One color will be buffer 0, the other buffer 1. https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/128838

? how can i can those values? i know i can use icustom to get values of the supertrend, but how the color? can you give me an example? thanks again!!

could anyone explain this? it sounds like using icustom in reverse mode?!

i want a variable that says : "supertrend is green" or "red", so i have to get back the buffer value.

maybe i should be calling 2 supertrends (one in mode 0, one in mode 1) and discard one "obviously wrong" value, thus knowing wich mode is the good one at the moment??? is it a good way or is there a better option?

as u can c here

SetIndexStyle(0, DRAW_LINE, 0, 2);
   SetIndexBuffer(0, TrendUp);
   SetIndexStyle(1, DRAW_LINE, 0, 2);
   SetIndexBuffer(1, TrendDown);

Buffer 0 is green

& Buffer 1 is red

i made something approaching what i want but i cant understand the behaviour of this EA : its following supertrend switches sometimes, but it also reacts when the market reaches supertrend value...

here are the interresting lines of this code :

//green supertrend and previous value

double super0 = iCustom(NULL,0,"SuperTrend",0,1);
double prevsuper0 = iCustom(NULL,0,"SuperTrend",0,2);

//red supertrend and previous value

double super1 = iCustom(NULL,0,"SuperTrend",1,1);
double prevsuper1 = iCustom(NULL,0,"SuperTrend",1,2);

// turns to red