how does the MA indicator work

hi there,

I am new to mql5. Really new to this. I am looking at the code  for the simple MA function. I am trying to understand how the codes work and reflect the functions listed on

http://www.metatrader5.com/en/terminal/help/analytics/indicators/trend_indicators/ma#sma.

double SimpleMA(const int position,const int period,const double &price[])
  {
//---
   double result=0.0;
//--- check position
   if(position>=period-1 && period>0)
     {
      //--- calculate value
      for(int i=0;i<period;i++) result+=price[position-i];
      result/=period;
     }
//---
   return(result);

Simple Moving Average (SMA)

Simple, in other words, arithmetical moving average is calculated by summing up the prices of instrument closure over a certain number of single periods (for instance, 12 hours). This value is then divided by the number of such periods.

SMA = SUM (CLOSE (i), N) / N

Where:

SUM — sum;
CLOSE (i) — current period close price;
N — number of calculation periods.

how does the program get those input parameters ie position , period , price ?

lets say the position = 4

and since position>=period-1

4>=period-1

5 >= period

and solving for period , we get period is less than or equal to 5,

result+=price[position-i];

so for the first iteration, so we start adding from the 4th position.

result = price [4]

and then we divide result by period where period,

result/=period;

so even though we have started summing the price from the 4th position,
we have to divide by a period with period = 5 ?

tomyang03:
hi there,

I am new to mql5. Really new to this. I am looking at the code  for the simple MA function. I am trying to understand how the codes work and reflect the functions listed on

http://www.metatrader5.com/en/terminal/help/analytics/indicators/trend_indicators/ma#sma.

<CODE DELETED>

Please read some other posts before posting . . .

When posting code  please use the   SRC   button: How to use the   SRC   button.