Confused NuB: Series of ‘if’ statements & ‘return’ - page 2

7bit:
return will immediately exit the function and return to where the function was called.

If you now ask what a function is, then maybe you shoud search the web for some introductory programming tutorial (on whatever language you like, it doesn't matter, preferable something other than mql) to learn the very basics of what a program is, of what parts and structures it can consist, etc.

Since you are an absolute newbie I will now try to form you, to massively influence the rest of your programming life with the following few rules:

there are two possible ways to write the if construct, the short form often leads to confusion.

and the longer form:
in the first case there are the { and } missing, this is an exception from the general rule, blocks are always enclused in {}. In the above case it will only execute the next command (or do the next if). Please ALWAYS use the second form, even when only one line is to be executed by the if. The curly braces simply are more clear and obvious and al will be more uniform and the whole program will be easier to read and understand.

The other thing you should practice from the very beginning on is proper indentation. Always. Your code has to look nice. Its structure should already be clear from looking at the formatting alone. Look up the One-True-Brace-Style on wikipedia. 1TBS style for formatting is the only one true style. Metaquotes people are doing it wrong and therefore I hate them for keeping newbies off from proper formatting. Half of the n00bs are writing a complete mess formatting-wise. Remember: there is only one true style!

And now please start reading a programming book. Learning Java would be a good Idea, its syntax is very similar to mql4, but it is easier to learn. After you have done this you can try learning mql4.

I don't need math 101 thanks.