When I use the uninstall feature with metatrader, then reboot, then reinstall the following happens. After I install and start metatrader my old profiles and some custom indicators are still in my files, even the last settings from my previous backtest, this leads me to beleive that I did not get a "clean" uninstall. My broker has verified that they do not save any settings on there server side.
Just manually delete the installation directory before reinstalling.
I am logged in as admin. I hit delete on the actual folder in c/....., it then asks permission and I accept, it then ask to continue (vista bs) so i hit continue, it proceeds but then stops and says I do not have permission.
ok worked, mt4 was open, ill try to get a real install now, will see
nope, same profiles / settings come up still
Are u by accident talking about the default profiles & settings that come with MT4...? As their name implies, they are installed by default.
no, my personal settings, saved trendlines, indicators, colors, ect
All profiles, settings, indicators etc. are saved in the sub-folders inside the main MT4 installation folder (usually it's in "c:\program files\metatrader - broker_name\..."). Deleting it should delete everything.
yes, but in my case after i delete and re-install, upon installation it pulls the settings from the previous install. This may seem unusual or I do ont know what Im doing but I've serched other forums and even asked my current programmer and no one knows whats going on. Ive been trading for over 2 years with MT4 and have never had this issue before. The only change now is I'm on a newly built PC and using vista64.
Don't know... Sorry.
Hi, have a look at this link for the answer https://forum.mql4.com/17184#150269
basically, your profile seems to be stored in the following location and it needs to be removed: c:\users\_your_name_\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\_your_metatrader_\