Array problem

Hi

I am a developer who comes from a Java-background. Therefore I have a hard time understanding Array handling in MQL.

Lets say I want to make an Indicator, in the calculation of the "current value", I need to know lets say the squareroot of some "earlier values", therefore I want an array with squareroots of every value (every bar). Here is the problem, because I don't want to show the squareroot value in the chart. Therefore the array is not a "buffer" and it therefore wont automatically push backwards on every new period/timeframe (I mean that value[i] wont become value[i+1], so that index 0 is the most recent point). How do I achieve this? I hope you understood the question, feel free to comment...

Thanks in advance.

sigvardsen:

Hi

I am a developer who comes from a Java-background. Therefore I have a hard time understanding Array handling in MQL.

Lets say I want to make an Indicator, in the calculation of the "current value", I need to know lets say the squareroot of some "earlier values", therefore I want an array with squareroots of every value (every bar). Here is the problem, because I don't want to show the squareroot value in the chart. Therefore the array is not a "buffer" and it therefore wont automatically push backwards on every new period/timeframe (I mean that value[i] wont become value[i+1], so that index 0 is the most recent point). How do I achieve this? I hope you understood the question, feel free to comment...

Thanks in advance.

Hi sigvardsen

I suggest you look at the ZigZag indicator that comes with MT4 for an example of what you want to do.

This property sets the number of visible indicator buffers

#property indicator_buffers 1

but later, in init(), the function SetIndexBuffer() is used three times to assign arrays to inidcator buffers. The first one is drawn, extra ones are not.

SetIndexBuffer(0,ZigzagBuffer);
   SetIndexBuffer(1,HighMapBuffer);
   SetIndexBuffer(2,LowMapBuffer);