Learning mql4. Intro and questions of a student.

Intro: As I have been reading through this forum for some time now, I feel I owe a great many of you thanks for the help and effort you have afforded to so many before me here. I plan to be stay around for the long haul so I do feel the need to introduce myself to the board here. I‘ll keep it short and simple but we’ll see how that goes: Been learning trading and investing for the past 10 years or so. Grew up with my father as a financial advisor so been interested in the markets for a long time and got an early start learning. I went to school for finance as well and am currently studying for the series 7.

As for why I am here, I have been learning and trading forex for a couple years now. For the past few months have really tried to dedicate as much free time as I can to learn programming for MT4 so I can code my own indicators and EA’s. After making it through a couple tutorials and toying with my own basic indicators, I realized that I still had too many basic questions I didn’t want to fill up the board with. I figured I would give myself a better base to learn MQL4 and taught myself C++. By no means am I a master, but I learned a lot and it definitely helped understand what I’m looking at here. By the way, up to this point, other than learning C++ and trying to learn mql4, my only experience in programming or computer languages has been learning html and php for a small web-based business I started and writing my own programs for TI calculators in math classes, all of which I learned on my own as well. But I am quite confident that with a little advice and mentoring on what to study and know, I can learn and understand this language and hopefully contribute something back to the forum here in the process.